Potomac River, Great Falls

A weekend out hiking along the Potomac River in Northern Virginia made my photography experience well worth while. The weather was perfect and so was the stunning views that lay before me. I am so excited to show you what I saw that day.

The following photographs I took are by far my favorite to this day. I hope you like them too!

water-fall-sunset-wm

river-2-wm

1-river-wm

waterfall-autumn-wm

river-mountain-wm

waterfall-day-wm

river-forest-wm-2

Let me know what your views are in the comment section below.

 

Thanks for following!!!

28 thoughts on “Potomac River, Great Falls

Add yours

    1. Hi Nia, thank you for your wonderful thoughts on this. A few tweaks on these to to adjust lighting and to make the colors more vibrant on PS . The rest is all camera work such as shutter speeds, aperture settings and Neutral Density filters. More to come in the near future. Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Wow! Great captures. I am planning to shoot a lot of water this spring/summer. Experiment using tripod, different shutter speeds, buy some neutral density filters. Now I need to pick your brain – what shutter speeds are you finding good results with. Are these handheld or tripod? Thx.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much the nice comment! So to get these long exposure shots I used a 10 stop ND filter. The shutter speed ranges from 15 seconds – 60 seconds depending on the natural lighting. I will take quite a number of shots adjusting the shutter speed just so I get the perfect one. I tend to stick with a aperture of f/7.1. I always use a tripod for these long exposure shots. Looking forward to see what you come up with!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks a lot Joel! Very useful for me. I’m going to get that ND filter soon! The great thing about digital is the ability to immediately review the images at the different shutter speeds – not like back-in-the-day when it cost me 50 cents/shot of Kodachrome – then wait a week to get the slides (roll of 36) back and find plenty of poor images. But it helped to increase my compositional and lighting awareness.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My pleasure! I guess I missed that photography era. The wait would have killed me as I can’t wait to see what my photos look like on a bigger screen or even when printed. I’m still consider myself new to the photography world and I’m learning new things about it each day. I just keep practicing!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

